WITH 3,867 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of Columbus Ohio
about Precision Garage Door
has received 31 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
Poor Experience My experience with Kimmie (sp?), Operator who took my call was positive. A same day appointment was scheduled and she let me know the process: 1) technician performs complete inspection 2) technician provides an estimate of work and cost 3) $49 charge if you choose not to proceed with the work. David arrived promptly within the window of time. He noticed immediately my door made “a lot of noise” upon opening and said he could alleviate with lubricant, which I replied great. David quickly diagnosed the issue as faulty wiring. Although manipulating the wiring seemingly resolved the issue, he was unsure if it would last and cautioned it might reoccur. He said the cost of work was $209. He could further fix the wiring issue, ensuring it would not reoccur for an additional $100. OR, we could pay the $209 and take the chance the issue would not reoccur. However, if he came back out (although he knew the issue) it would be an additional $209. At this point I had not received a written quote, only a verbal cost of $209. When I mentioned an additional $209 to come back out if the issue reoccurred seemed high: 1) given he knew the issue and 2) seemed inconsistent with the $49 charge quoted by Kimmie; and our exchange did not feel like a positive customer experience. I mentioned at this point not to proceed with work and I would pay the $49 for him coming out; (again the charge Kimmie quoted ). David seemed frustrated in our exchange and said I would not be charged anything, to which I responded “great”, and he proceeded to leave. It was a poor customer experience, SOPs (standard operating procedures) were not followed, complete with the up-sale of an $800 wireless control. Maurice Markey
- Maruice Markey
Technicians: David S
I feel I have been scammed. I looked up what I had done and the cost of the things Like battery, bulb, grease & wiring and your price was almost twice as much as I should have paid. I will be looking into what I can do about this with the elder abuse people.
- Barbara Gilkerson
Technicians: David S
Canal Winchester, OH
The Service guy was great! But for 30 minutes of work, Changed two Brackets. And lubed rollers. Cost $ 265.65 outrageous. Will not use your service again!
- Doug Taylor
It was a Holiday weekend so I was not able to call additional companies for a quote. I would absolutely not recommend this company. They constantly try to upsell you and charge so much more than average. I just talked to my next door neighbor and he paid almost half.
- Jeff Stouffer
Technicians: Tim Jr
Communication was terrible--service tech told me I had three options to get my garage door working... #1 Good $1155; #2 Better $1515 or #3 Best $1715... no description of what I was getting, only that if I went with #2 it would have a 10 year warranty. So based on seeing a screen on his phone with just the information show above (no details)... I picked the middle #2! After the service, I received an e-mail showing the options listed above with the details of what all was included (first time to know what I was getting)... AND I noticed, the warranty is only for 7 years NOT 10! They have no paperwork, no pamphlet, no warranty certificate indicating what is and what is not covered. Later, I received an e-mail from the owner of the company-asking me to write a review-but if "for any reason you are not totally satisfied, I would consider it a favor if you called and gave me the opportunity to redress the situation". So I called, obviously I was not permitted to talk directly to him. I talked with someone who argued with me and told me the office manager would call me back... that was on 5/15,,, NO ONE HAS CALLED! Be careful, ask for proof of what you are getting, know your warranty, ask for paperwork! Hopefully, if anything does go wrong they will honor their service?????
- D Mattera
Technicians: Joseph W
Your tech came out on Tuesday and gave us 3 quotes with least expensive of $1100.00 on a 3 year old door. Got it fixed for $65.00. What a difference.
- Rick Kinney
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I appreciated speaking with you today to resolve this issue. Thank you so much for the opportunity to stand by our 100% customer satisfaction guarantee and make this right for you.
I identified broken spring on garage door, could't get my car out. called Precision and had a response. Repairment came and replaced along w/ other spring. Bottom line: he was here for 10 minutes. fixed it and charged me $589.00 w/ senior discount. I think we were taken advantage of and been had by the serviceman. I don't think this was fair ! By copy of this letter to BBB, they will be advised of this ripoff and will also be posted on social media. Springs are available for $ 100/a pair. This is what i would call a daylight robbery.
- Jim Claflin
Jim, we appreciate you taking the time to speak with our management team, we value you taking the time to leave your feedback and hope we were able to make this situation right by you as we strive to provide our customers with 100% customer satisfaction. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to our management team directly.
Technicians: Walker F
I selected Precision for my mother because we had a coupon for a free service call. I am outraged that she was charged a $20.00 transportation fee. She got a 3 door garage opener when she only has one garage. Simply makes no sense to replace her opener at that expense. The tech said the second opener had the batteries in a bit crooked. It still doesn't work. I will be ordering a second remote from Amazon, exactly the same as your company provided for $32.99. I feel like you took advantage of an 88 year old big time.
- Donna Whittaker
Donna, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Thank you for speaking with our management team this afternoon. We strive to provide our customers with 100% customer satisfaction and hope you will consider using our company again if you have any future garage door needs.
I cancel my appointment because I got the garage door to work, but ask if they can set me up for a remote for the garage, the lady on the phone said yes, so the tech comes out, he didn't touch anything, not a thing and stated the unit was too old for a remote and charged me $49.00 for a service call, if he had touched something, to ensure the unit was old. then I would feel ripped off.
- Daniel Cochran
Daniel, We appreciate you taking the time to speak with our office manager this morning. We hope we were able to rectify our service so that you will call us again for any of your future garage door needs.
Technicians: Patrick M
I told the tech to leave the old garage door opener but he took it anyway. There was nothing wrong with it but it mysteriously stopped working while he worked on repairing the rails. Then sold me a very expensive opener. I want my old one back. The new one jerks and squeaks when opening!
- Chris Uhl
We strive to provide our customers with 100% customer satisfaction and we are very concerned to hear about your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to see if we can make this situation right by you if you could please give our office manager a call back at your earliest convenience please at 614-362-3625. Thank you
Technicians: Walker F
Beware of getting charged for unnecessary items. I did not use this company. I found one who replaced my garage door opener with the same model Precision would've used. They charged me less than half.
- Robyn Smith
Robyn, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We do our best to provide our customers with 100% satisfaction. Please give our management team a call back at your earliest convenience as we would like to see how we could turn your experience around.
$1396 for a torsion spring repair. Just got a quote from another company for a fraction of the price. Reporting to BBB tomorrow. Considering getting an attorney.
- Phil Halsey
Phil, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We do offer price matching with any legitimate quote and hope after speaking with you this morning we were able to leave you a better feeling about using our company for any of your future garage door needs. Thank you again for the opportunity and your time.
I am not sure that I am completely content with the warranty service that I received yesterday. My garage door opened yesterday. However, your technician installed right side cable in my driveway rubbing against a portion of the metal frame. It may have an adverse effect on the cable durability. So, I am sorry, but I cannot give you a better rating.
- Magaly Lopez
Magaly we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Thank you for allowing us to send a Manager out to the property for you today to get this issue resolved and for speaking with me. If you have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out directly to our management team.
Matt came to my home and corrected my concern. I feared that the right side cable was rubbing against a metal piece, which would cause the cable to break. But, Manager Matt moved the metal piece a bit to the right. The potential problem was avoided. I am very satisfied with the result. And I am granting you an "excellent" grade for your overall work. Thanks.
Technicians: Tom P
I was quoted $200-$400 when scheduling the appointment then the guy come out and gives me an estimate for $870.I had it fixed 3 hours later by a different company for $465.
- Kevin Courtright
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. If you could please give us a call back at your earliest convenience, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to go over that quote with you as we do offer price matching with any legitimate quotes.
Technicians: Derek M
I am writing this review on behalf of my sister who had you come out and repair her garage door. I was beside myself when she told me what she paid to have repair work done on her door, $1700.00 and they only replaced parts not a new door or opener? I ask her to send me the invoice for review and it made me wonder what sales training school they send your techs to upsell service parts. Along with the price for simple things like Torsion cables & center plates. This bill was twice as much than it should have been in my opinion, based on estimates from other companies using the same parts. Seams like when you find a single older individual who needs help quickly, its all about the money for Precision. 100% satisfaction, I don't think so. This is my opinion, if you like your money, compare Precisions estimate to any other company before you buy. thanks for taking the time to read this review.
- Judith Beach
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, We appreciate the opportunity to speak with you today in regards to the service that was completed. We offer 100% customer satisfaction to our customers and if you have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out to our management team directly.
Service technician did not have the parts for a specified project. Told me it would be rescheduled for the next day. They never added me to the schedule so obviously my business is not important to them.
- Michael Smith
Michael thank you for taking the time to speak with our management team. Once again we apologize immensely for the error in our scheduling department, this is absolutely unacceptable behavior for us as we strive to provide each of our customers with excellent service and we failed on our end in delivering that service to you. If you have any further questions or concerns please reach out to our management team directly.
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE BEWARE!!!... I had an issue with my motor in the opener. They came out and analyzed my issue and furnished 2 quotes $1900+ and $2300+ and then charged $49.95 service fee with a line item of $20 for transportation. I was not informed of a service fee up front and the tech did NOTHING except write an estimate. In review of their estimates, they hugely up-charged everything as I check on-line what I could by the parts for and quoted a discontinued opener. I had another company out and it was fixed for a total of $178 ... I've asked for a refund of the $49.95 Buyer Beware!!!!!!!!!!!
- Mike Whiteman
Mike, thank you for taking the time to speak with our management team we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to provide that estimate. The online parts are not the same product or grade as what our technicians carry and our service call fee is what we charge for coming out to the home to do the 25 point inspection along with coming out with a fully stocked van that we can do repairs or services that same day. We apologize this was not brought up at the time of your first appointment. We have spoken with our scheduling department and this should have been explained to you upon scheduling. I hope that our resolution was satisfactory to you. Again, if there's anything else you need, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you, Chelsea (Office Manager)
All I can say is…RUN! They wanted to charge me $985 for a $180 repair that was done in 30 minutes by a great company named The Garage Door Guy. They also charged me $50 just to come out. This company should be ashamed of themselves!!!
- Kim Dishong
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Kim, a member from our management team did reach out this afternoon to further discuss this but unfortunately it was not a good time for your schedule. We are hoping tomorrow morning will be a better time to go over this with you as we do offer 100% customer satisfaction to our customers and would appreciate the opportunity to make this situation right by you.
I thought the light on our opener was staying on. The tech didn’t know anything about it. He said since it was a Craftsman he couldn’t do anything and I would have to utube it. Your techs came out before and did minor corrections on the system. I was not happy.
- Marsha Miller
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Marsha. After speaking with our management team this morning we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to turn around your experience with us and send out our senior technician to inspect the unit further so we can rebuild your confidence in our company.
Technicians: Kayne S
Installer on time! New door looks and works great! Very pleased!
- Martha Gramlich
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback it was nice speaking with you this morning. Please feel free to give us a call for any future questions or concerns.
Technicians: Walker F
I called precision doors to look at replacing broken spring. Came out very professional then came the quote for repairs. In my opinion it was a quote that was ridiculously priced. I was told I needed new everything. I was told I needed dual springs instead of single new bearings new cables new rollers. Well I called Apex garage door they came out replaced single spring cables were fine bearings were good they recommended replacing rollers but not an immediate need. Precision wanted 1100.00 for repairs Apex charged me 405.00 huge difference I should have called them from the start. They were way more honest in my opinion.
- Heather Ramage
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to discuss this situation and come together on a solution that you feel comfortable with. Any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to our management team directly.
Technicians: Tim Jr
Very responsive, came right away and the “sales” guy was quite nice. However he gave me three generic numbers, never itemized anything and said that’s the best he could do for me. He tried to add in things that weren’t really needed, even at the lowest option. Unfortunately, the cheapest option was 650$, and after asking around others, I was told I was being ripped off. Better yet, they even knew the name of the company without even me telling them, which goes to show their reputation. Called a local guy I was recommended by someone who flips homes, came out right away and it was fixed for half the price, 350$! Please support local, if you can, which I did more research. Oh, I was also told that I wouldn’t be charged an assessment fee, but was of 50$. Overall disappointing experience and wouldn’t recommend, there are much more reasonable places out there!
- Sara Dorman
Thank you Sara for taking the time to take our phone call this morning with management in regards to this experience you had. First we would like to apologize for providing this very disappointing service. At Precision we offer 100% Customer satisfaction and we hope that after the call we came up with a solution to make this right by you. We appreciate you giving us this opportunity and please feel free to reach out to us for any future concerns or questions.
Technicians: Kayne S
I was just ripped off by this company. I ran into my door and needed a few repairs. They added many other charges and repairs to the bill. I spoke with another repairman who verified this but they had already started the work so I wasn't able to stop it. When I asked the repairman to stop and quote me on the work he had already done because I realized the price was too high he told me that he isn't able to raise the door to remove his items and gave me a breakdown of why it is that price which seemed like he was replacing too much unnecessary stuff. Then he "talked to him manager" and somehow was able to come down over $300. I was still ripped off even with that price so I am not happy. I'm thankful that they were able to come out over the weekend but also know that I could have saved at least a couple hundred dollars had I been able to wait until Monday.
- Elizabeth Walker
Thank you Elizabeth for taking my phone call today to go over your service experience. We offer 100% customer satisfaction and really hope we were able to come up with a good solution and help you feel more confident in our work as a company. If you have any of concerns please feel free to reach out to management directly.
Technicians: Tom P
Bad experience…. One of our springs broke but the door was still working. I called the night before so we could be on the schedule the next day. Talked to someone about the cost and she told me depending on the spring $65-118 each installed. When the tech showed up it was not the tech I was told or the tech in the email. After he looked at my door, he gave us three quotes. $520, $960 and $1500. The door is not that old and should not need a complete rebuild. Told the tech we are going to get another quote and he said that will be $49.95 for the service call unless we have work done. We then asked him to just do the springs. Looking at the invoice he charged $120 per spring plus a $20 fleet transportation fee???? Total $278.20 when we tried to use the $15 off coupon from the website he said he could not take it because he gave us a good deal and upgraded our springs. This is not a company I will be recommending and I think it awful how they are out to sell something you don’t need. They are not a company that is in your best interest. Stay away….
- Greg Lewis
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to address this concern and left you a voicemail this morning can you please give me a call back at 614-532-2011 at your earliest convenience.
Technicians: Kayne S
The technician didn’t have a clue of what the problem was. He then tried to sell me a new garage opener. I ended up just thanking him and sending him his way, not after paying $50 for nothing of all. Next day I started working on it myself and found out that all it needed was a reset. Highly doubt you’re willing to refund the $50 dollars. Please don’t call yourselves technicians or claim to repair garage doors.
- Aiden Churape
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're sorry we were unable to assist you with your problem. As we discussed, we have refunded the $49.95 service fee for you. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.
Precision was very responsive with rapid service and new unit installation. The door works well, is very quiet and the phone app for entry will be a positive for our family. Unfortunately I was unprepared for the 20% additional cost, or about $150, on the final invoice for a new track, fleet transportation and additional supplies. Apparently the verbal quote on which I made my decision was for the unit and openers only. It's unlikely I would have proceeded with the installation if I'd been made aware of the full cost as the initial service call fee is quite nominal; and costs from the onset were significantly higher than those provided by big box stores. It can be argued the Liftmaster is a better quality, and Precisions immediate and quality service is of value, but in the end the final cost was not disclosed prior to installation. Consumer bummer.
- Renee Cummings
This has nothing to do with the service guy cuz he was nice but he basically said I can't fix the spring on this system so I can convert it to another system for a fortune. Nothing on the website told me that they wouldn't be able to fix my problem yet I am supposed to pay them 55 bucks anyway. Seems like a racket to me.
- Not given
Hi Chris, I am sorry to hear about you experience with our company. We aim to please every customer, but, we have obviously missed the mark this time. While speaking to you on the phone I told you that I could not speak to any other companies’ parts or pricing. I can only speak on the quality our parts. The industry standard for springs is to use 10,000 life cycle springs. We use 30,000 and 50,000 life cycle springs. Some companies will also use 1 spring on a double door when it is safer and recommended to use 2 springs. I am not saying either of these is the case just telling you what I have seen in the past. You did not want to discuss this on the phone so I will not talk too much about that. Also, as I told you on the phone, I am voiding the check you wrote us and sending it back to you. As a small business that has been in Columbus for almost 20 years we take customer satisfaction very serious. I am happy that you were able to find a company to execute this repair for you and get your garage back up and running.
I feel like I was totally ripped off. The technician was prompt, professional, neat, and quick. But the price was a complete ripoff. I would never recommend this company in a million years. Just an FYI for those wanting to throw their money away, they charge about 325 plus dollars an hour for labor. Live and learn, I will never consider this company for future business and it’s my opinion you shouldn’t either.
- Tyler Patterson
Mr. Patterson, I want to first apologize for the negative experience that you had with our company, but, we are happy we were able to get your door up and running in a timely manner. As for the quality of parts, we use the highest quality parts that are locally made for our applications. The industry standard for springs is 10,000 life-cycles. Our springs are 30,000+ life cycles. We cannot speak to any other companies quality of parts or pricing but stand behind the parts that we install. Again, we are happy that we were able to help you get your garage door back and running properly. Over the life of the spring I do hope that you will see the quality difference in our products. If you have any further questions please reach out to me at 614-294-5190.
Installers: Alex E
I requested an estimate to replace my garage door. The time was set by you or your employee. While visiting my very ill husband you came at a time I wasn't home. Keep in mind YOU set the time. I was at home 1/2 half hour before the scheduled time. No I haven't returned your calls. There was no reason to do so. Your quote was twice as much as other reputable business's. I will not be using Precision Door. Since you requested me to fill in the "Service Performed" slot, I did so since I would not be able to send a review otherwise. DO NOT BELEIVE IT. I will not be using your company.
- Sharon Miller
Tech said the whole unit needed replaced, that I could not just get transponder and remotes. I questioned, he insisted. I found someone else to do.
- Mark Levy
Office: (614) 294-5190
1111 Stimmel Rd
Columbus, OH 43223
Office: (614) 965-6565
219 Cemetery Rd
Canal Winchester, OH 43110
Office: (614) 259-8928
5992 Westerville Rd
Westerville, OH 43081
Office: (614) 664-6070
5060 Cemetery Rd
Hilliard, OH 43026