1 (866) 448-0180

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of Columbus Ohio
has received 18 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
1 2 3 4 5
Review:

I was quoted $200-$400 when scheduling the appointment then the guy come out and gives me an estimate for $870.I had it fixed 3 hours later by a different company for $465.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. If you could please give us a call back at your earliest convenience, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to go over that quote with you as we do offer price matching with any legitimate quotes.

Derek M Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Technicians: Derek M
Review:

I am writing this review on behalf of my sister who had you come out and repair her garage door. I was beside myself when she told me what she paid to have repair work done on her door, $1700.00 and they only replaced parts not a new door or opener? I ask her to send me the invoice for review and it made me wonder what sales training school they send your techs to upsell service parts. Along with the price for simple things like Torsion cables & center plates. This bill was twice as much than it should have been in my opinion, based on estimates from other companies using the same parts. Seams like when you find a single older individual who needs help quickly, its all about the money for Precision. 100% satisfaction, I don't think so. This is my opinion, if you like your money, compare Precisions estimate to any other company before you buy. thanks for taking the time to read this review.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, We appreciate the opportunity to speak with you today in regards to the service that was completed. We offer 100% customer satisfaction to our customers and if you have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out to our management team directly.

Michael B Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair

Technicians: Michael B
Review:

Service technician did not have the parts for a specified project. Told me it would be rescheduled for the next day. They never added me to the schedule so obviously my business is not important to them.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Michael thank you for taking the time to speak with our management team. Once again we apologize immensely for the error in our scheduling department, this is absolutely unacceptable behavior for us as we strive to provide each of our customers with excellent service and we failed on our end in delivering that service to you. If you have any further questions or concerns please reach out to our management team directly.

En W Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Technicians: En W
Review:

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE BEWARE!!!... I had an issue with my motor in the opener. They came out and analyzed my issue and furnished 2 quotes $1900+ and $2300+ and then charged $49.95 service fee with a line item of $20 for transportation. I was not informed of a service fee up front and the tech did NOTHING except write an estimate. In review of their estimates, they hugely up-charged everything as I check on-line what I could by the parts for and quoted a discontinued opener. I had another company out and it was fixed for a total of $178 ... I've asked for a refund of the $49.95 Buyer Beware!!!!!!!!!!!

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Mike, thank you for taking the time to speak with our management team we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to provide that estimate. The online parts are not the same product or grade as what our technicians carry and our service call fee is what we charge for coming out to the home to do the 25 point inspection along with coming out with a fully stocked van that we can do repairs or services that same day. We apologize this was not brought up at the time of your first appointment. We have spoken with our scheduling department and this should have been explained to you upon scheduling. I hope that our resolution was satisfactory to you. Again, if there's anything else you need, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you, Chelsea (Office Manager)

Walker F Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Technicians: Walker F
Review:

All I can say is…RUN! They wanted to charge me $985 for a $180 repair that was done in 30 minutes by a great company named The Garage Door Guy. They also charged me $50 just to come out. This company should be ashamed of themselves!!!

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Kim, a member from our management team did reach out this afternoon to further discuss this but unfortunately it was not a good time for your schedule. We are hoping tomorrow morning will be a better time to go over this with you as we do offer 100% customer satisfaction to our customers and would appreciate the opportunity to make this situation right by you.

Walker F Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Technicians: Walker F
Review:

I thought the light on our opener was staying on. The tech didn’t know anything about it. He said since it was a Craftsman he couldn’t do anything and I would have to utube it. Your techs came out before and did minor corrections on the system. I was not happy.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Marsha. After speaking with our management team this morning we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to turn around your experience with us and send out our senior technician to inspect the unit further so we can rebuild your confidence in our company.

Kayne S Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair

Technicians: Kayne S
Review:

Installer on time! New door looks and works great! Very pleased!

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback it was nice speaking with you this morning. Please feel free to give us a call for any future questions or concerns.

Walker F Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Install

Technicians: Walker F
Review:

I called precision doors to look at replacing broken spring. Came out very professional then came the quote for repairs. In my opinion it was a quote that was ridiculously priced. I was told I needed new everything. I was told I needed dual springs instead of single new bearings new cables new rollers. Well I called Apex garage door they came out replaced single spring cables were fine bearings were good they recommended replacing rollers but not an immediate need. Precision wanted 1100.00 for repairs Apex charged me 405.00 huge difference I should have called them from the start. They were way more honest in my opinion.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to discuss this situation and come together on a solution that you feel comfortable with. Any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to our management team directly.

Tim Jr Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair

Technicians: Tim Jr
Review:

Very responsive, came right away and the “sales” guy was quite nice. However he gave me three generic numbers, never itemized anything and said that’s the best he could do for me. He tried to add in things that weren’t really needed, even at the lowest option. Unfortunately, the cheapest option was 650$, and after asking around others, I was told I was being ripped off. Better yet, they even knew the name of the company without even me telling them, which goes to show their reputation. Called a local guy I was recommended by someone who flips homes, came out right away and it was fixed for half the price, 350$! Please support local, if you can, which I did more research. Oh, I was also told that I wouldn’t be charged an assessment fee, but was of 50$. Overall disappointing experience and wouldn’t recommend, there are much more reasonable places out there!

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you Sara for taking the time to take our phone call this morning with management in regards to this experience you had. First we would like to apologize for providing this very disappointing service. At Precision we offer 100% Customer satisfaction and we hope that after the call we came up with a solution to make this right by you. We appreciate you giving us this opportunity and please feel free to reach out to us for any future concerns or questions.

Kayne S Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Technicians: Kayne S
Review:

I was just ripped off by this company. I ran into my door and needed a few repairs. They added many other charges and repairs to the bill. I spoke with another repairman who verified this but they had already started the work so I wasn't able to stop it. When I asked the repairman to stop and quote me on the work he had already done because I realized the price was too high he told me that he isn't able to raise the door to remove his items and gave me a breakdown of why it is that price which seemed like he was replacing too much unnecessary stuff. Then he "talked to him manager" and somehow was able to come down over $300. I was still ripped off even with that price so I am not happy. I'm thankful that they were able to come out over the weekend but also know that I could have saved at least a couple hundred dollars had I been able to wait until Monday.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you Elizabeth for taking my phone call today to go over your service experience. We offer 100% customer satisfaction and really hope we were able to come up with a good solution and help you feel more confident in our work as a company. If you have any of concerns please feel free to reach out to management directly.

Tom P Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Technicians: Tom P
Review:

Bad experience…. One of our springs broke but the door was still working. I called the night before so we could be on the schedule the next day. Talked to someone about the cost and she told me depending on the spring $65-118 each installed. When the tech showed up it was not the tech I was told or the tech in the email. After he looked at my door, he gave us three quotes. $520, $960 and $1500. The door is not that old and should not need a complete rebuild. Told the tech we are going to get another quote and he said that will be $49.95 for the service call unless we have work done. We then asked him to just do the springs. Looking at the invoice he charged $120 per spring plus a $20 fleet transportation fee???? Total $278.20 when we tried to use the $15 off coupon from the website he said he could not take it because he gave us a good deal and upgraded our springs. This is not a company I will be recommending and I think it awful how they are out to sell something you don’t need. They are not a company that is in your best interest. Stay away….

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to address this concern and left you a voicemail this morning can you please give me a call back at 614-532-2011 at your earliest convenience.

Kayne S Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair

Technicians: Kayne S
Review:

The technician didn’t have a clue of what the problem was. He then tried to sell me a new garage opener. I ended up just thanking him and sending him his way, not after paying $50 for nothing of all. Next day I started working on it myself and found out that all it needed was a reset. Highly doubt you’re willing to refund the $50 dollars. Please don’t call yourselves technicians or claim to repair garage doors.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're sorry we were unable to assist you with your problem. As we discussed, we have refunded the $49.95 service fee for you. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair

Review:

Precision was very responsive with rapid service and new unit installation. The door works well, is very quiet and the phone app for entry will be a positive for our family. Unfortunately I was unprepared for the 20% additional cost, or about $150, on the final invoice for a new track, fleet transportation and additional supplies. Apparently the verbal quote on which I made my decision was for the unit and openers only. It's unlikely I would have proceeded with the installation if I'd been made aware of the full cost as the initial service call fee is quite nominal; and costs from the onset were significantly higher than those provided by big box stores. It can be argued the Liftmaster is a better quality, and Precisions immediate and quality service is of value, but in the end the final cost was not disclosed prior to installation. Consumer bummer.

-

Tim T Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Install

Product:
Belt Drive Garage Door Opener

Technicians: Tim T
Review:

This has nothing to do with the service guy cuz he was nice but he basically said I can't fix the spring on this system so I can convert it to another system for a fortune. Nothing on the website told me that they wouldn't be able to fix my problem yet I am supposed to pay them 55 bucks anyway. Seems like a racket to me.

-

A Response from: Scott Minnick

Hi Chris, I am sorry to hear about you experience with our company. We aim to please every customer, but, we have obviously missed the mark this time. While speaking to you on the phone I told you that I could not speak to any other companies’ parts or pricing. I can only speak on the quality our parts. The industry standard for springs is to use 10,000 life cycle springs. We use 30,000 and 50,000 life cycle springs. Some companies will also use 1 spring on a double door when it is safer and recommended to use 2 springs. I am not saying either of these is the case just telling you what I have seen in the past. You did not want to discuss this on the phone so I will not talk too much about that. Also, as I told you on the phone, I am voiding the check you wrote us and sending it back to you. As a small business that has been in Columbus for almost 20 years we take customer satisfaction very serious. I am happy that you were able to find a company to execute this repair for you and get your garage back up and running.

Tim T Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair

Technicians: Tim T
Review:

I feel like I was totally ripped off. The technician was prompt, professional, neat, and quick. But the price was a complete ripoff. I would never recommend this company in a million years. Just an FYI for those wanting to throw their money away, they charge about 325 plus dollars an hour for labor. Live and learn, I will never consider this company for future business and it’s my opinion you shouldn’t either.

-

A Response from: Scott Minnick

Mr. Patterson, I want to first apologize for the negative experience that you had with our company, but, we are happy we were able to get your door up and running in a timely manner. As for the quality of parts, we use the highest quality parts that are locally made for our applications. The industry standard for springs is 10,000 life-cycles. Our springs are 30,000+ life cycles. We cannot speak to any other companies quality of parts or pricing but stand behind the parts that we install. Again, we are happy that we were able to help you get your garage door back and running properly. Over the life of the spring I do hope that you will see the quality difference in our products. If you have any further questions please reach out to me at 614-294-5190.

Alex E Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair

Product:
Springs

Installers: Alex E
Review:

I requested an estimate to replace my garage door. The time was set by you or your employee. While visiting my very ill husband you came at a time I wasn't home. Keep in mind YOU set the time. I was at home 1/2 half hour before the scheduled time. No I haven't returned your calls. There was no reason to do so. Your quote was twice as much as other reputable business's. I will not be using Precision Door. Since you requested me to fill in the "Service Performed" slot, I did so since I would not be able to send a review otherwise. DO NOT BELEIVE IT. I will not be using your company.

-

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair

Review:

Tech said the whole unit needed replaced, that I could not just get transponder and remotes. I questioned, he insisted. I found someone else to do.

-

Tim T Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair

Technicians: Tim T
Review:

The installation is professional but the price is outrageous! Can you imagine the spring cost $163 each and it was suggested to have two installed! Ask for a handy man to do the job rather than get gouged be the cost of the parts! Avoid if you can! The cost of the spring shouldn't cost more than $100 for the pair rather than $326 for the pair plus the cost of installation. I will make sure this review gets posted on other third party review site to benefit a fair opinion on the repair service.

-

A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thanks for your prompt response, Scott. We truly appreciate your business and loyalty and apologize for any disconnect with regard to our pricing. Please know that when it comes to replacing hardware on your door, (in this case, your springs) we only install top-of-the-line hardware at Precision Door. We always recommend and encourage a customer to replace both springs for a couple different reasons: 1) Their safety. Assuming both springs are the same age, either spring could have broken. When a single spring is replaced, the pre-existing spring now has new hardware to contend with and often times, can break the same day or shortly thereafter. 2) The new spring has to work harder, in order to makeup for the toss of torque the pre-existed, fatigued spring has endured during it's life. This can shorted the life of your new spring. We want to ensure you're getting the best quality, life and value out of every Precision repair. We pride ourselves in offering not only an ultimate solution for all our customers, but the best possible hardware solution so, over the course of it's use, you'll begin to see the difference. We'd be happy to provide any additional information upon request. Finally, as a small token of our gratitude for your business, we'd like to extend a $40 coupon upon your next visit or needed repair. We also have coupons for both door and opener installations that we'd be happy to extend your way if ever needed- just reference this response or any coupon available at the time!

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair

Product:
Springs

Columbus Area

(614) 441-9758

(614) 441-9758
Westerville Area

(614) 423-4177

(614) 423-4177
Reynoldsburg | Gahanna Area

(614) 441-9758

(614) 441-9758
Dublin Area

(614) 423-4177

(614) 423-4177
Newark | Buckeye Lake Area

(740) 527-0151

(740) 527-0151
Delaware Area

(740) 513-2686

(740) 513-2686
Johnstown Area

(740) 919-6439

(740) 919-6439
Grove City Area

(614) 441-9758

(614) 441-9758
Marysville Area

(937) 552-5973

(937) 552-5973
Lancaster Area

(740) 527-0151

(740) 527-0151
Washington Court House Area

(740) 513-2686

(740) 513-2686
Circleville Area

(740) 919-6439

(740) 919-6439
Precision Garage Door of Columbus
Office: (614) 294-5190
1111 Stimmel Rd
Columbus, OH 43223
Precision Garage Door of Canal Winchester
Office: (614) 965-6565
219 Cemetery Rd
Canal Winchester, OH 43110
Precision Garage Door of Westerville
Office: (614) 259-8928
5992 Westerville Rd
Suite A

Westerville, OH 43081
Precision Garage Door of Hilliard
Office: (614) 664-6070
5060 Cemetery Rd
Hilliard, OH 43026

License

License #
52-748230