1 (866) 448-0180
Call Now! 1 (866) 448-0180

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of Columbus Ohio
has received 9 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

I was just ripped off by this company. I ran into my door and needed a few repairs. They added many other charges and repairs to the bill. I spoke with another repairman who verified this but they had already started the work so I wasn't able to stop it. When I asked the repairman to stop and quote me on the work he had already done because I realized the price was too high he told me that he isn't able to raise the door to remove his items and gave me a breakdown of why it is that price which seemed like he was replacing too much unnecessary stuff. Then he "talked to him manager" and somehow was able to come down over $300. I was still ripped off even with that price so I am not happy. I'm thankful that they were able to come out over the weekend but also know that I could have saved at least a couple hundred dollars had I been able to wait until Monday.
Elizabeth Walker
A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you Elizabeth for taking my phone call today to go over your service experience. We offer 100% customer satisfaction and really hope we were able to come up with a good solution and help you feel more confident in our work as a company. If you have any of concerns please feel free to reach out to management directly.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

Bad experience…. One of our springs broke but the door was still working. I called the night before so we could be on the schedule the next day. Talked to someone about the cost and she told me depending on the spring $65-118 each installed. When the tech showed up it was not the tech I was told or the tech in the email. After he looked at my door, he gave us three quotes. $520, $960 and $1500. The door is not that old and should not need a complete rebuild. Told the tech we are going to get another quote and he said that will be $49.95 for the service call unless we have work done. We then asked him to just do the springs. Looking at the invoice he charged $120 per spring plus a $20 fleet transportation fee???? Total $278.20 when we tried to use the $15 off coupon from the website he said he could not take it because he gave us a good deal and upgraded our springs. This is not a company I will be recommending and I think it awful how they are out to sell something you don’t need. They are not a company that is in your best interest. Stay away….
Greg Lewis
A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to address this concern and left you a voicemail this morning can you please give me a call back at 614-532-2011 at your earliest convenience.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

The technician didn’t have a clue of what the problem was. He then tried to sell me a new garage opener. I ended up just thanking him and sending him his way, not after paying $50 for nothing of all. Next day I started working on it myself and found out that all it needed was a reset. Highly doubt you’re willing to refund the $50 dollars. Please don’t call yourselves technicians or claim to repair garage doors.
Aiden Churape
A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're sorry we were unable to assist you with your problem. As we discussed, we have refunded the $49.95 service fee for you. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

Precision was very responsive with rapid service and new unit installation. The door works well, is very quiet and the phone app for entry will be a positive for our family. Unfortunately I was unprepared for the 20% additional cost, or about $150, on the final invoice for a new track, fleet transportation and additional supplies. Apparently the verbal quote on which I made my decision was for the unit and openers only. It's unlikely I would have proceeded with the installation if I'd been made aware of the full cost as the initial service call fee is quite nominal; and costs from the onset were significantly higher than those provided by big box stores. It can be argued the Liftmaster is a better quality, and Precisions immediate and quality service is of value, but in the end the final cost was not disclosed prior to installation. Consumer bummer.
Renee Cummings
Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Install
Product:
Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

This has nothing to do with the service guy cuz he was nice but he basically said I can't fix the spring on this system so I can convert it to another system for a fortune. Nothing on the website told me that they wouldn't be able to fix my problem yet I am supposed to pay them 55 bucks anyway. Seems like a racket to me.
Not given
A Response from: Scott Minnick

Hi Chris, I am sorry to hear about you experience with our company. We aim to please every customer, but, we have obviously missed the mark this time. While speaking to you on the phone I told you that I could not speak to any other companies’ parts or pricing. I can only speak on the quality our parts. The industry standard for springs is to use 10,000 life cycle springs. We use 30,000 and 50,000 life cycle springs. Some companies will also use 1 spring on a double door when it is safer and recommended to use 2 springs. I am not saying either of these is the case just telling you what I have seen in the past. You did not want to discuss this on the phone so I will not talk too much about that. Also, as I told you on the phone, I am voiding the check you wrote us and sending it back to you. As a small business that has been in Columbus for almost 20 years we take customer satisfaction very serious. I am happy that you were able to find a company to execute this repair for you and get your garage back up and running.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

I feel like I was totally ripped off. The technician was prompt, professional, neat, and quick. But the price was a complete ripoff. I would never recommend this company in a million years. Just an FYI for those wanting to throw their money away, they charge about 325 plus dollars an hour for labor. Live and learn, I will never consider this company for future business and it’s my opinion you shouldn’t either.
Tyler Patterson
A Response from: Scott Minnick

Mr. Patterson, I want to first apologize for the negative experience that you had with our company, but, we are happy we were able to get your door up and running in a timely manner. As for the quality of parts, we use the highest quality parts that are locally made for our applications. The industry standard for springs is 10,000 life-cycles. Our springs are 30,000+ life cycles. We cannot speak to any other companies quality of parts or pricing but stand behind the parts that we install. Again, we are happy that we were able to help you get your garage door back and running properly. Over the life of the spring I do hope that you will see the quality difference in our products. If you have any further questions please reach out to me at 614-294-5190.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

I requested an estimate to replace my garage door. The time was set by you or your employee. While visiting my very ill husband you came at a time I wasn't home. Keep in mind YOU set the time. I was at home 1/2 half hour before the scheduled time. No I haven't returned your calls. There was no reason to do so. Your quote was twice as much as other reputable business's. I will not be using Precision Door. Since you requested me to fill in the "Service Performed" slot, I did so since I would not be able to send a review otherwise. DO NOT BELEIVE IT. I will not be using your company.
Sharon Miller
Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

Tech said the whole unit needed replaced, that I could not just get transponder and remotes. I questioned, he insisted. I found someone else to do.
Mark Levy
Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
? At the completion of every job all Precision customers that provide contact information are sent a request to review our business.
Review:

The installation is professional but the price is outrageous! Can you imagine the spring cost $163 each and it was suggested to have two installed! Ask for a handy man to do the job rather than get gouged be the cost of the parts! Avoid if you can! The cost of the spring shouldn't cost more than $100 for the pair rather than $326 for the pair plus the cost of installation. I will make sure this review gets posted on other third party review site to benefit a fair opinion on the repair service.
Scott Hong
A Response from: Jim Rapp

Thanks for your prompt response, Scott. We truly appreciate your business and loyalty and apologize for any disconnect with regard to our pricing. Please know that when it comes to replacing hardware on your door, (in this case, your springs) we only install top-of-the-line hardware at Precision Door. We always recommend and encourage a customer to replace both springs for a couple different reasons: 1) Their safety. Assuming both springs are the same age, either spring could have broken. When a single spring is replaced, the pre-existing spring now has new hardware to contend with and often times, can break the same day or shortly thereafter. 2) The new spring has to work harder, in order to makeup for the toss of torque the pre-existed, fatigued spring has endured during it's life. This can shorted the life of your new spring. We want to ensure you're getting the best quality, life and value out of every Precision repair. We pride ourselves in offering not only an ultimate solution for all our customers, but the best possible hardware solution so, over the course of it's use, you'll begin to see the difference. We'd be happy to provide any additional information upon request. Finally, as a small token of our gratitude for your business, we'd like to extend a $40 coupon upon your next visit or needed repair. We also have coupons for both door and opener installations that we'd be happy to extend your way if ever needed- just reference this response or any coupon available at the time!

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs